Hawks Sweep Big Ten Awards
Big Ten Coach Of The Year
Big Ten Coach Of The Year

Posted Nov 26, 2002

IOWA CITY, IA. – Iowa Football Coach Kirk Ferentz has been named Big Ten Coach of the Year, quarterback Brad Banks Big Ten Offensive Player of the Year and offensive lineman Eric Steinbach Big Ten Lineman of the Year.

Those are just three of the prestigious awards won by Iowa and announced by the Big Ten Conference today. The Hawkeyes finished the Big Ten 8-0 and 11-1 overall and are currently ranked fourth nationally in the ESPN/USA TODAY poll.

Ferentz just completed a turn-around campaign that’s been remarkable, to say the least. His first Iowa team (1999) was 0-8 in the Big Ten and 1-10 overall. Kirk is also considered a leading candidate for national Coach of the Year honors.

Banks is a leading contender for this year’s Heisman Trophy, emblematic of college football’s best player.

Steinbach, along with Banks, is expected to be named to all-America teams within the next few weeks.


IOWA CITY, IA – The Iowa football team has landed a record breaking 11 players on this year’s coach’s and media all-Big Ten teams. The Big Ten Conference announced the all-star teams today.

Making the first all-Big Ten team, as named by the coaches, are quarterback Brad Banks, running back Fred Russell, offensive linemen Bruce Nelson, Eric Steinbach and Robert Gallery, tight end Dallas Clark, tackle Colin Cole, linebacker Fred Barr, defensive back Bob Sanders and placekicker Nate Kaeding. Defensive end Howard Hodges made the first all-Big Ten team named by the media.

Iowa had eight first team all-Big Ten players in 1985 and 1991, but never more.

Named to the second all-Big Ten Coach’s team are Hodges, linebacker Grant Steen and defensive back Derek Pagel. Offensive lineman David Porter made the second all-Big Ten media team.

EDITOR’S NOTE: Check today’s Big Ten release for a complete list of all-Big Ten teams.

Related Stories
Can It Get Better Than This?
 -by HawkeyeInsider.com  Nov 26, 2002
Rose Bowl Bound Hawks Should Not Be Disappointed
 -by HawkeyeInsider.com  Nov 25, 2002
Brad Banks Heisman Website
 -by HawkeyeInsider.com  Nov 24, 2002

Get the 2014 Scout.com Recruiting Yearbook with an annual Total Access Pass
Sign Up Today!

Upgrade Now!
Free Email Newsletter
Don't miss any news or features from HawkeyeInsider.com. Subscribe to our newsletter to have our newest articles emailed to you on a daily or weekly basis.
Click here for a list of all Team Newsletters.